Before & After (2011-2016) – My change to a healthier lifestyle

I know these photos are pretty far apart but I have been on and off with my healthy eating and workout routines the past few years therefore I haven’t had drastic changes in just a few months. I have worked so hard to get to where I am now and I could not be happier. I am in no way saying that I absolutely love the way I look right now and that there is nothing I want to change, I mean I still have a long way to go in terms of loosing a little bit more weight and toning my body, but I am looking and feeling a lot better than I did a few years ago!

When looking at before and after pictures of myself I do not only look at my physical appearance but I also associate the way I look in the photos with how I was feeling both mentally and emotionally at that particular time of my life.

Back in 2011 I was not happy at all with the way I looked. I did not particularly like getting photos taken of me because I felt embarrassed and I forced myself to smile. Although at this time I was not going through a bad situation I just felt down about my weight, my belly, my arms and legs and I just wanted to hide them all the time because I felt extremely uncomfortable! (I’m not playing the woe me card at all, I’m just explaining how I was feeling at the time in order to compare the difference from then to now). I was feeling lethargic all the time and just really weak. I tried to go on a diet and eat less and healthier foods but I was always discouraged because I never saw a difference so I would just give up, get upset, complain and continue not caring about what foods I consumed. When you are feeling this way emotionally it is extremely difficult to change the way you think about eating the right foods and also being patient about noticing results. I always expected results right away. I did not know anything about having a balanced diet back then, I just thought that not eating would help me lose weight. I would not eat much for a few days so I was always really hungry and that is how I became discouraged because when I didn’t see results in two days I would binge eat and what a shock, I wouldn’t lose the weight! I knew that I needed to make a change but now looking back I just didn’t have the confidence and the willpower to commit to a healthy lifestyle.
12735763_576748899168111_1511019714_n

12714301_576748879168113_1284403549_n

Sorry about the quality!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the year of 2013 is where I felt that my life changed for the better in terms of weight loss. At this time I went on a bit of an emotional roller coaster ride, I went through a bit of depression and my anxiety was at its peak due to a few things that happened that year. To try and deal with all of this I decided to turn to YouTube and found Blogilates. I would literally sit there on the couch and watch Casey’s workout videos; I wouldn’t just watch five seconds of the video I would watch the entire 10-15 minutes without even doing the workout myself. I saw how happy she looked and sounded while doing the exercises and I also read the comments on her videos and read about how happy people were about the results they were seeing from doing her workouts which in turn made me feel happier so I decided to one day give it a go. I bought myself a cheap yoga mat from Kmart and put on her ‘Pilates for Beginners’ video and started following her instructions. It was damn hard but I got through it and after that workout I was hooked! I guess you could say I turned a little Khloé Kardashian getting really into my workouts (a slight exaggeration but you know what I mean, right?) I could not and did not want to stop working out! I was working out every day doing at least five Blogilates videos a day and then I realised that Casey released a workout calendar every month stating which workouts to do every day so I then began to follow these calenders and added 20 minutes of cardio which was running on the treadmill (I did start off with walking and running until I was able to jog the entire 20 minutes 🙂 ). I felt so good! I loved the pain the days following a good hardcore workout and I just loved feeling the sweat drip from my body! Gross but true.

I also slowly started going to the gym which I never wanted to step foot in due to my anxiety of being in a closed space with many people that seemed to know exactly what they were doing. I would literally work up a sweat before I even stepped foot in the gym. But I did it and I can now walk into a gym by myself with no issues 😀 I just suddenly woke up to myself and realised that everyone that goes to the gym is there for the same reasons as me – for results and to live a healthier lifestyle.

before and after editedbna edited

Fast forward to now, February 2016, and I am feeling amazing! I am starting to really like the way I look and I am absolutely loving the way I am feeling. I now know the importance of having a balanced diet! Working out has become a big part of my life and I cannot see myself stopping. Exercising and feeding my body the right foods has made me feel less lethargic, happier and has helped me sleep so good throughout the night! I have also started attending F45 sessions which are INTENSE but absolutely amazing. If you like to SWEAT and feel those muscles shake by the end of a workout I definitely recommend looking into taking up some F45 classes, you will not be disappointed! I now spend my money on workout attire because I have become a bit obsessed with working out… I love it!

PicMonkey Collage

12744073_576694499173551_2928340367882573082_n

Not great quality either, sorry! 😦

I hope you enjoyed reading about my change throughout the years to a healthier me. I would like to thank one of my best friends Alyssa who has helped me so much this past year with pushing me to do things that are out of my comfort zone in terms of exercising and for always supporting me and helping me get through my “I can’t do this” phases. If you are wanting to make a change toward a healthier you, take the plunge! It took me a few years to get to where I am but if I can do it I am 110% CERTAIN that you can do it as well. Go out and by yourself some cute workout clothes and a good pair of runners (Asics is the way to go) and also watch peoples transformations on YouTube or download the Blogilates app to be a part of the Blogilates community, by doing these things it motivates you to go hard and it will help you realise that you have to work hard and be patient to notice results 🙂

If you would like know more about my workouts and healthy eating let me know in the comments 🙂

“Love yourself enough to
live a healthier lifestyle”

Talia xo

 

3 thoughts on “Before & After (2011-2016) – My change to a healthier lifestyle

  1. Pingback: ARE YOU SELF CONFIDENT? | Bellafloresa

Leave a Reply

